KU to honor outstanding seniors in Sedgwick County

WICHITA — More than 350 seniors in Sedgwick County will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars.

The students from 14 high schools will be honored Nov. 8 by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment. The program and reception will take place at Wichita State University's Hughes Metropolitan Complex, 5015 E. 29th St. North.

Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized 114,000 scholars who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties in Kansas.

Saralyn Reece Hardy, director of KU's Spencer Museum of Art, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

For a complete list of students to be honored, go to