Tornado watch for Wichita and more than 30 counties

The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch for Wichita and much of eastern Kansas until 10 p.m. today.

“Thunderstorms will develop along a boundary that extends from north of Pratt to Hutchinson to Chanute,” a hazardous weather outlook issued by the weather service states. “These storms have a good potential to be severe this evening with damaging winds, large hail and isolated tornadoes the main threats.”

The strongest storms are expected to be near and south of U.S. 54, where hail may be larger than golf balls, winds stronger than 75 miles an hour, and tornadoes will be “more likely.”

The watch covers 37 counties in Kansas, including the Wichita metropolitan area. The list of counties includes Allen, Anderson, Barber, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Coffey, Cowley, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Labette, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Montgomery, Neosho, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick, Stafford, Sumner, Wilson and Woodson.