12 USD 259 students named National Merit semifinalists

WICHITA — Twelve Wichita public school students have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists, district officials reported today.

Eight of the semifinalists attend East High School, and four attend Northwest.

The semifinalists from East are: Joshua Countryman, Hillary Harder, Stephen Lowe, Drea Shauver, Emma Snowden, Haley Stritzel, Ellery Wadman-Goetsch and Lauren Walker.

The semifinalists from Northwest are: Daniel Depew, Ashley Farris, Elise Fast and Michael McCormick.

Students become National Merit semifinalists by taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) during their junior year and scoring in the top one-half of 1 percent in the state. Students become finalists through an application process and completing the SAT.

Scholarship winners are chosen on the basis of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced in the spring.