Election day is Tuesday

On Tuesday, Republicans will choose between Jerry Moran and Todd Tiahrt for the U.S. Senate. Both parties will choose candidates for Congress and a slate of state and local offices.

When can I vote?

On Tuesday, polls are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Sedgwick and Butler counties.

In Harvey County, polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Not sure if you are registered?

Go to the state's website, to find out.

Who can vote?

Voters registered as Republicans can vote only in the Republican primary; Democrats can vote only in the Democratic primary.

People who registered as unaffiliated or independent voters can vote in either one. But those who want to vote in the Republican primary will have to fill out a new voter registration card at the polls and join the Republican party.

Not sure where to vote?

In Sedgwick County, call the Election Commissioner's Office 316-660-7100 to find out your polling place.

On the web, check

Not sure whom to vote for?

Consult the online voter guide at

Fill in your home address and get a sample ballot for your precinct with information about each candidate.

What if I haven't returned my advance ballot?

Mail ballots must be returned to the county Election Office by 7 p.m. on Election Day.

In Sedgwick County, that's in the Historic County Courthouse, 510 N. Main.

Do not take ballots to the polls. They won't be counted. Ballots returned without a signature won't be counted.

Related stories from Wichita Eagle