KU's Collins, Aldrich share Big 12 preseason honor

No shock here. Kansas teammates Cole Aldrich and Sherron Collins lead the preseason All-Big 12 team, and they were tabbed co-preseason players of the year in a vote by league coaches.

Joining Aldrich and Collins on the team are Iowa State's Craig Brackins, Oklahoma's Willie Warren, Damion James of Texas and James Anderson of Oklahoma State.

Iowa State's Marquis Gilstrap, a forward who played at Gulf Coast (Fla.) Community College last season, was named preseason newcomer of the year. Texas guard Avery Bradley was named preseason freshman of the year.