Missouri's Weatherspoon a finalist for Butkus Award

Missouri's Sean Weatherspoon has been named one of five finalists for the Butkus Award, the honor named after former Chicago Bears star as the best linebacker in college football.

Whoever wins the award, named for former Illinois and Chicago Bears start Dick Butkus, will come from either the Big 12 Conference or the SEC.

Other finalists are Sergio Kindle of Teas, Rolando McClain of Alabama, Brandon Spikes of Florida and Eric Norwood of South Carolina.

McClain, Weatherspoon and Spikes were finalists in 2008.

The winner will be announced in the first week of December.