Missouri conservation agency to close 13 offices

JEFFERSON CITY | A budget crunch is causing the Missouri Department of Conservation to close offices and reduce hours at several sites around the state.

The department said Tuesday it will close or end its lease agreements at 13 field offices. Most of those offices have few employees, who will work in the future from other sites or from home.

Conservation offices targeted for closing include those near the cities of Branson, Brookfield, Farmington, Fredericktown, Ironton, Liberty, Marble Hill, Sullivan and Van Buren. The rest are in Callaway, Clinton, Howard and Macon counties.

The department also said it will reduce operating hours at six of its seven nature and education centers.