'Cash for Clunkers' program causing fines in Missouri

SPRINGFIELD | Missourians who participated in the federal "Cash for Clunkers" program could be in danger of state fines.

The state Department of Revenue said some customers left their dealer's parking lots without the paperwork needed to register and title their new vehicles.

If they don't register the vehicles within 30 days, they could be fined $25 per month, or up to $200.

Dealers in many cases have held on to the paperwork until the government reimburses them for the rebate payments they gave to consumers. Those requests have gotten delayed.

Some dealers say they'll reimburse shoppers for any late penalties.