K-State's nonconference hoops schedule includes Sprint Center game

The Kansas City Star

Kansas State has released its non-conference men's basketball schedule, which includes a Nov. 28 game at Sprint Center vs. IUPUI and a Dec. 12 trip to the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas to face Lon Kruger's UNLV team.

The Wildcats also will play in the Puerto Rico Tipoff tournament Nov. 19-22, which was previously announced. Besides K-State, that field consists of Boston University, Dayton, George Mason, Georgia Tech, Indiana, Mississippi and Villanova. K-State's opponents in that tournament are still to be determined.

K-State will play Washington State in Manhattan as part of the Big 12/Pac-10 Hardwood Series on Dec. 5 and will face Alabama of the Southeastern Conference on Dec. 19 in Mobile, Ala.

“We have put together what I think is a strong non-conference schedule,” Wildcats coach Frank Martin said. “This is particularly important when you play in such a formidable league as the Big 12. Our conference will once again be one of the best, if not the best, in the entire country.”

Game times, as well as dates for K-State's Big 12 Conference games, will be released later.

2009-10 Kansas State men's basketball schedule

Home games at Bramlage Coliseum in Manhattan, Kan., unless noted

Sunday, Nov. 8: vs. Pittsburg State (exhibition)

Friday, Nov. 13: vs. Loyola (Ill.)

Sunday, Nov. 15: vs. Western Illinois

Thursday, Nov. 19: vs. TBA at Puerto Rico Tipoff

Friday, Nov. 20: vs. TBA at Puerto Rico Tipoff

Sunday, Nov. 22: vs. TBA at Puerto Rico Tipoff

Saturday, Nov. 28: vs. IUPUI at Sprint Center

Tuesday Dec. 1: vs. Fort Hays State

Saturday, Dec. 5: vs. Washington State

Tuesday, Dec. 8: vs. Xavier

Saturday, Dec. 12: at UNLV

Saturday, Dec. 19: vs. Alabama in Mobile, Ala.

Monday, Dec. 21: vs. Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Tuesday, Dec. 29: vs. Cleveland State

Sunday, Jan. 3: vs. South Dakota

Big 12 home opponents: Colorado, Iowa State, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M.

Big 12 road opponents: Baylor, Colorado, Iowa State, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Texas Tech. Big 12 tournament: March 10-13 at Sprint Center