New swine flu cases reported in Johnson, Wyandotte counties

TOPEKA | Kansas health officials say five children in three counties are the latest people confirmed with swine flu.

The announcement Wednesday by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment raises the state total to 28.

The latest group includes two children in Wyandotte County, two in Johnson County and a Geary County child who has been hospitalized.

Other confirmed cases are two in Dickinson County, nine in Johnson County, one in Ottawa County, one in Sedgwick County, nine in Wyandotte County and one in Geary County.

The state health department has established a phone line for concerned Kansans to call with questions about swine flu. The number is 1-877-427-7317. Operators will be available to answer questions from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.