MU's Anderson wins coaching award

Missouri's Mike Anderson has won the Clair Bee Coach of the Year Award, joining former recipients that include Michigan State's Tom Izzo, Duke's Mike Krzyzewski, Syracuse's Jim Boeheim and Bob Knight.

The honor goes to a Division I men's basketball coach who through his actions on and off the court makes an outstanding contribution to the sport of college basketball.

The award was voted on by Bob and Pat Knight, Big 12 Commissioner Dan Beebe, Jay Bilas, Dave Gavitt, Bob Hammel, Billy Packer, Dean Smith and Dick Vitale.

Anderson's MU squad was the most improved in the nation, jumping from 16-16 in 2007-08 to a 31-7 overall mark. Mizzou won the Big 12 tournament title and rolled to the Elite Eight of the NCAA Tournament after being picked to finish seventh in the Big 12.

Anderson will receive the award on Sunday morning at the National Association of Basketball Coaches Past Presidents Luncheon in Detroit.

Bee was the legendary coach at Long Island University who was also the author of the Chip Hilton series of inspirational sports books. Clair Bee Award Winners

2009 – Mike Anderson, Missouri

2008 - Bob McKillop, Davidson

2007 - Bo Ryan, Wisconsin

2006 - Jim Larranaga, George Mason

2005 - Tom Izzo, Michigan State

2004 - Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

2003 - Tom Crean, Marquette

2002 - Bob Knight, Texas Tech

2001 - Lute Olson, Arizona

2000 - Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

1999 - Jim O'Brien, Ohio State

1998 - Jim Phelan, Mount St. Mary's

1997 - Clem Haskins, Minnesota