TOPEKA | Gov. Kathleen Sebelius will sign legislation raising the age for getting an unrestricted Kansas driver's license from 16 to 17.
The governor says she will sign the bill at 1 p.m. Friday in her office.
Kansas would become the 49th state to adopt a graduated driver's license law.
Unchanged will be the practice of allowing teens to get a farm permit or learner's permit at age 14. Holders of learner's permits are allowed to drive if they are accompanied by an adult.
Premium content for only $0.99
For the most comprehensive local coverage, subscribe today.
The measure requires people to have such permits for a year, instead of the current six months, before obtaining an unrestricted license.
The state would keep its current policy of allowing a 15-year-old with an unrestricted license to drive unsupervised to and from school and work.