Self named national coach of the year by basketball writers

The hardware is starting to add up for Kansas coach Bill Self. Just one day after Self led the Jayhawks to the Sweet 16 with a 60-43 win over Dayton, the United States Basketball Writers Association named Self its 2009 recipient of the Henry Iba Award, given annually to the nation’s top coach.

This award should stand out on Self’s mantelpiece, given the respect he has for Iba, who led Oklahoma State (then Oklahoma A&M) to back-to-back national championships in 1945-46. Self has often talked about his conversations that he had with Iba when Self was a player at Oklahoma State.

Self was chosen from a list of finalists that included Missouri’s Mike Anderson, Memphis’ John Calipari and Oklahoma’s Jeff Capel. It is the second time a KU coach has won the USBWA’s national coach of the year award. Roy Williams won it in 1990.

Self has already been named the Sporting News’ national coach of the year and the Big 12 coach of the year.

Related stories from Wichita Eagle