Peyton Manning, Drew Brees among NFL 101 Awards winners

The NFL award winners who will be honored at the annual 101 Banquet in Kansas City were announced today. They are: AFC Offensive Player of the Year: Indianapolis quarterback Peyton Manning.

NFC Offensive Player of the Year: New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees.

AFC Defensive Player of the Year: Pittsburgh linebacker James Harrison.

NFC Defensive Player of the Year: Dallas linebacker DeMarcus Ware

AFC Coach of the Year: Miami’s Tony Sparano.

NFC Coach of the Year: Atlanta’s Mike Smith

Lamar Hunt Award: Former Indianapolis coach Tony Dungy

The 2008 season award winners will be presented with trophies at the 39th Annual NFL 101 Awards gala Saturday, March 7, 2009 at the Westin Crown Center.

In addition to the national winners, the awards dinner will recognize two Chiefs players: the 2008 Derrick Thomas MVP recipient, tight end Tony Gonzalez, and the Mack Lee Hill Award winner, rookie cornerback Maurice Leggett.

While the 101 Awards event is backed by corporate sponsors, the awards dinner is open to the public and a limited number of tickets at $165 are available. Ticket and sponsorship inquiries should be directed to Jeff Hiller at (913) 681-6990 extension 111. The 101 Awards are sponsored by the Committee of 101 and serves as a benefit for the Chiefs Children’s Fund, a 501(c)3 Foundation that distributes funds to various children’s charities throughout the Kansas City area.