Dixon wins pole position for Indy 500

Scott Dixon won the pole for the 92nd running of the Indianapolis 500 Saturday afternoon when he posted an average speed of 226.366 mph during his four-lap qualifying run.

His speed allowed Dixon to edge his Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate, Dan Wheldon.

Ryan Briscoe of Team Penske will join the Ganassi drivers on the front row of the 500 in two weeks as he was third-fastest in qualifying.

Qualifying fourth fastest was Helio Castroneves. Starting next to him from the middle of the second row in the race will be Danica Patrick, who earlier this year, became the first woman to win a major open-wheel race.

In all, 11 drivers qualified on the first of four days of qualifying at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Eleven more spots in the field of 33 are scheduled to be filled today _ weather permitting.

The final 11 spots are scheduled to be filled next Saturday. Next Sunday will be bump day, when drivers who have not driven their way into the field in the first three days of qualifying will have a chance to knock off the slowest drivers.

Dixon becomes the first driver from New Zealand to win an Indy pole. He finished as runner-up to Dario Franchitti in last year’s race.

Wheldon, who won the race at Kansas Speedway two weeks ago, won the 500 in 2005.