KU's Danny Manning leads 2008 college hall of fame class

SAN ANTONIO | The weekend just keeps getting better for Danny Manning.

Manning, the former Kansas great and now Jayhawks assistant coach was introduced as a member of the 2008 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame on Sunday.

Saturday, Manning watched Kansas blow past North Carolina 84-66 in the national semifinal. The Jayhawks will meet Memphis for the national championship on Monday.

The Class of 2008 includes Manning and Arnie Ferin, who led Utah to the 1944 national championship is the only four-time All-America in the game’s history.

The coaches are Nolan Richardson, who led Arkansas to three Final Fours and the 1994 national championship, and Jim Phelan, who led Mount St. Mary’s to 830 victories over a 49-year career, all at the Maryland school.

Broadcasters Billy Packer and Dick Vitale, voices synonymous with college basketball, will be inducted as contributors.Charles Barkley, the former Auburn great, will be honored with the Hall of Fame’s founding class. The class includes coaches, players and contributors with strong college basketball credentials who are enshrined in the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass.

The enshrinement ceremony will be Nov. 23 at the College Basketball Experience in Kansas City.

2008 class profiles

Charles Barkley, Auburn, founding class

Barkely led the SEC in rebounding three season at Auburn, and was an 1984 All-America. He’s one of four players -- along with Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Wilt Chamberlain and Karl Malone-- to amass NBA career numbers of 20,000 points, 10,000 rebounds and 4,000 assists.

Arnie Ferrin, Utah, player

The only four-time All-America in college basketball history, Ferrin was the most outstanding player of the 1944 NCAA championship. He also led Utah to the 1947 NIT championship.

Danny Manning, Kansas, player

One of the greatest players in the game’s history, Manning finished his Kansas career with the 1988 championship. He’s the program’s career scoring leader with 2,951 points and rebounder with 1,187. He’s been a member of the Kansas coaching staff since 2003.

Billy Packer, contributor

Packer has called basketball for 34 seasons, and has been the lead analyst for 28 on CBS. He’s the author of several books on college basketball, and as a starting guard helped Wake Forest reach the 1962 Final Four.

Jim Phelan, Mount Saint Mary’s coach

The Iron Man of college basketbal coaching, Phelan ranks fourth in career coaching victories with 830. The coach in the bowtie guided the Mount to 19 seasons of 20 victories.

Nolan Richardson, Arkansas, coach

Richardson is the only coach to win a national junior college title, a postseason NIT crown and the NCAA championship. He led Arkansas to 15 consecutive postseason tournaments in his 16 seasons at Fayetteville and won the 1994 national championship.

Dick Vitale, contributor

He joined ESPN when the network launched in 1979 and has become the leading voice in college basketball. The Seton Hall graduate coached the University of Detroit and the Detroit Pistons.

Previous classes


James Naismith

Oscar Robertson

Bill Russell

Dean Smith

John Wooden


Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Dick Barnett

Vic Bubas

Austin Carr

Lefty Driesell

Dick Groat

Guy Lewis

Norm Stewart

Coaching founding fathers: Phog Allen, Henry Iba, John McLendon, Adolph Rupp