Beasley named finalist for Naismith player of the year award

Kansas State freshman forward Michael Beasley was named one of four finalists for the Naismith men’s college player of the year award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club and AT&T announced Sunday.

The other finalists are North Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough, UCLA’s Kevin Love and Memphis’ Chris Douglas-Roberts. The Naismith trophy given to the top player will be presented April 6 at the NABC Guardians of the Game awards program at the Final Four in San Antonio.

CBS will feature the winner at halftime of the national championship game April 7.

Texas’ Kevin Durant received the Naismith trophy last year.