KC cut from women's Final Four site list

Kansas City did not make the cut as a finalist for a future women’s Final Four.

Eight cities will be in the running for five finals from 2012-16. The cities that survived the cut are Columbus, Ohio; Dallas; Denver; Indianapolis; Nashville, Tenn.; New Orleans; San Antonio; and Tampa, Fla.

Kansas City held the 1998 Final Four at Kemper Arena and was bidding to be host to a future event at Sprint Center.

Kansas City will be host to a women’s regional final in 2010 at the Sprint Center.