Ask Sports

October 27, 2013

Ask Sports: How have other 7-0 teams fared in NFL history?

How have other 7-0 teams fared in the NFL?

How have other 7-0 teams fared in the NFL?

In the Super Bowl era the Chiefs are the 32nd team to start 7-0. All of the previous 31 teams made the playoffs and 15 reached the Super Bowl.

While it’s unlikely Kansas City does something crazy and loses one or fewer games like five of the teams (2011 Packers, 2007 Patriots, 1998 Vikings, 1985 Bears and 1972 Dolphins), only two of the teams lost five games the rest of the season – 2000 Vikings and 1985 Rams.

The 7-0 teams win an average of 13 games and at least one playoff game.

If you’re looking for historical precedent that relates to this Chiefs team, the 2003 Chiefs started 9-0 before finishing 13-3 and losing to the Colts in the divisional round.

Andy Reid’s 2004 Eagles lost their eighth game, finished 13-3 and reached the Super Bowl before losing to the Patriots.

Here is the breakdown of all the teams by playoff finish:

Super Bowl winners: 2009 Saints, 2006 Colts, 1998 Broncos, 1991 Redskins, 1990 Giants, 1985 Bears, 1978 Steelers, 1977 Cowboys and 1972 Dolphins

Super Bowl runners-up: 2009 Colts, 2007 Patriots, 2006 Bears, 2004 Eagles, 1984 Dolphins and 1973 Vikings

Lost in conference championship: 2012 Falcons, 2000 Vikings, 1998 Vikings, 1990 49ers, 1985 Rams, 1978 Rams, 1969 Rams

Lost in divisional round: 2011 Packers, 2008 Titans, 2007 Colts, 2005 Colts, 2003 Chiefs, 1975 Vikings, 1974 Cardinals

Lost in wild card round: 1991 Saints, 1983 Cowboys

Joshua Wood. Contributing: Randy Covitz of the Star

Related content


Sports Videos