Who is the active leader in career college football victories?

11/13/2011 12:00 AM

08/08/2014 10:06 AM

Who is the career leader in active wins in college football now?

With Joe Paterno getting fired last week in the wake of the Penn State child abuse scandal, the winningest coach in Division I history exited the game in stunning fashion.

The actual leader in all divisions is still John Gagliardi, who has amassed 483 wins in 63 years of coaching, mostly with NCAA Division III's St. John's in Minnesota.

The new Division I leader is Albany's Bob Ford, who entered Saturday with 253 career victories.

While supporting Penn State's decision to fire Paterno, Ford wasn't happy he was now the answer to a somewhat meaningless trivia question.

"It just means you stayed around a long time," the Albany Times-Union quoted Ford as saying. "I just wish it hadn't occurred this way."

Ford has been at the Football Championship Subdivision school, formerly I-AA, since 1973.

Among Football Bowl Subdivision schools, Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer leads the way, having picked up his 249th win Thursday night against Georgia Tech.

Other FBS coaches with more than 200 wins are Nevada's Chris Ault (225 before Saturday) and Texas' Mack Brown (225).

Kansas State's Bill Snyder had 156 wins before Saturday's game against Texas A&M.

When is the last time a Wichita team won a high school soccer championship?

This year's Class 6A champion, Northwest won the school's first title since 1995's championship.

The City League hadn't produced a boys soccer champion since Kapaun Mount Carmel in 1997.

Since then, other area teams have won the occasional title in sport that has been dominated by schools from Johnson County.

Trinity Academy was the last Wichita school to win, taking the 4-1A title last season.

Andover won 4-1A in 2003, while Goddard last won the title in 5A in 2002.

Maize, Kapaun, Northwest and Rose Hill each have lost in the championship game of their respective classes in the past decade.

North is the City League's only other past champion, winning the all-classes title in 1989.

On the girls side in the spring the history is even more bleak for south central Kansas teams, as no team from the area has won in the 19-year history of the state playoffs.

—Joshua Wood

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service