The Thunder's greatest players: No. 2 Bobby Desjardins

03/29/2012 5:00 AM

08/05/2014 6:47 PM

Before the season, The Eagle asked Thunder fans on the 20 greatest players for 20 seasons. We’re introducing one weekly throughout the season.

No. 2: Bobby Desjardins

When he turned away the final Tulsa shot to clinch the Thunder’s first CHL championship in 1994, Desjardins finished a remarkable two-year run as the league’s top goaltender. He was Rookie of the Year in 1992-93, the team’s first season, and by the end of 1994 he the league MVP and final remaining original Thunder player. He had goals-against averages of 4.63 and 4.00 before retiring as a player to become assistant coach at Miami (Ohio) while earning his master’s degree.

Previous players

3. Jason Duda

4. Daniel Tetrault

5. Ron Handy

6. Brent Sapergia

7. Rob Weingartner

8. Bryan Wells

9. Bob Berg

10. Sean O’Reilly

11. Dave Doucette

12. Paul Jackson

13. Jim Latos

14. Steve Chelios

15. Jim McGeough

16. Sebastien Laplante

17. Matt Robinson

18. Paul Esdale

19. Jeff Leiter

20t. Cory Dosdall

20t. Tom Roulston

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service