Rose's penalty overturned
05/11/2014 12:11 PM
05/11/2014 12:16 PM
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL (SportsNetwork.com) - The 2-stroke penalty Justin Rose was assessed at the end of the third round of the Players Championship was overturned on Sunday due to one of golf's new rules.
Rose was issued the penalty after his third round when it was discovered his ball moved when he soled his club behind it on the 18th hole.
But when officials decided on Sunday that the ball's movement would not be discernible to the naked eye without the use of high-definition cameras, Rose was awarded his two shots back.
The new rule limits how players can be penalized based on video evidence from HD cameras.
"I was good with the way everything played out; I want to play by the rules," Rose said about the penalty. "But I was reading an article in the evening and the rule states -- and I'm paraphrasing -- but if a player can't discern whether the ball moved or not, it's deemed not to have moved. I sort of scratched my head and said that's exactly what happened to me and yet I was docked two."
Rose's third-round score moved back to a 1-under 71 and placed him five shots behind overnight leaders Martin Kaymer and Jordan Spieth at 7-under 209.
Join the Discussion
The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.