Wichita State’s Gillaspie named semifinalist for Golden Spikes Award

05/27/2014 1:50 PM

08/06/2014 12:05 PM

Wichita State first baseman Casey Gillaspie is one of 21 semifinalists for the Golden Spikes Award, given to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

Gillaspie, a junior from Omaha, hit .389 with 15 home runs and 50 RBIs and earned Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year honors. Finalists will be announced June 3 and the winner on July 17. Fans can vote until Friday at GoldenSpikesAward.com.

Evansville pitcher Kyle Freeland, the MVC’s Pitcher of the Year, is also a semifinalist.

WSU pitcher/designated hitter Darren Dreifort won the Golden Spikes in 1993. Pitcher Braden Looper, in 1996, is the last Shocker to be named a finalist.

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service