Big 12

July 25, 2013

K-State’s Collin Klein is Big 12’s athlete of the year

Collin Klein’s time at Kansas State is over, but the former quarterback won another prestigious college honor on Thursday when he was named Big 12 Male Athlete of the Year for the 2012-13 school year.

Klein also won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy following a stellar senior season in which he guided the Wildcats to 11 victories, a conference title and a trip to the Fiesta Bowl.

Oklahoma pitcher Keilani Ricketts won Big 12 Female Athlete of the Year. Nominees were submitted by each Big 12 school and selected by a media panel based on their on-field accomplishments, academic achievements and citizenship.

Other male nominees for the award were Nick Florence (Baylor), Scott Fernandez (Iowa State), Ben McLemore (Kansas), Kendric Maple (Oklahoma), Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State), Charles Silmon (TCU), Ryan Crouser (Texas), Kennedy Kithuka (Texas Tech) and Harrison Musgrave (West Virginia).

Oklahoma pitcher Keilani Ricketts was the Big 12 female athlete of the year. Other female candidates for Big 12 Athlete of the Year included Brittney Griner (Baylor), Betsy Saina (Iowa State), Maggie Hull (Kansas), Petra Niedermayerova (Kansas State), Natalja Piliusina (Oklahoma State), Lorraine Ugen (TCU), Haley Eckerman (Texas), Kim Kaufman (Texas Tech) and Amanda Nugent (West Virginia).

Nominees are submitted by each Big 12 school and are selected — based on athletic performance, academic achievement and citizenship — by a media panel as well as fan voting through social media.

In 2012-13, K-State became just the second Big 12 school and fourth Bowl Championship Series automatic-qualifier program since 1998 to win at least a share of conference championships in football, men’s basketball and baseball in the same academic year, joining Stanford (1999-2000), Texas (2005-06) and Louisville (2012-13). With Bill Snyder (football), Bruce Weber (men’s basketball) and Brad Hill (baseball) all winning Big 12 coach of the year honors in 2012-13, K-State also became the first school in league history to win top coaching honors in those sports in the same season.

Big 12 athletes of the year

School year Female Male
1996-97 Nanceen Perry, Texas Jacque Vaughn, Kansas
1997-99 Vera Ilyina, Texas Grant Wistrom, Nebraska
1998-99 Suziann Reid, Texas Ricky Williams, Texas
1999-00 Erin Aldrich, Texas Charles Howell, Oklahoma State
2000-01 Greichaly Cepero, Nebraska Josh Heupel, Oklahoma
2001-02 Stacey Dales-Schuman, Oklahoma Cael Sanderson, Iowa State
2002-03 Cat Osterman, Texas Nick Collison, Kansas
2003-04 Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State Jason White, Oklahoma
2004-05 Cat Osterman, Texas Derrick Johnson, Texas
2005-06 Cat Osterman, Texas Vince Young, Texas
2006-07 Sarah Pavan, Nebraska Ben Askren, Missouri
2007-08 Sarah Pavan, Nebraska Chase Daniel, Missouri
2008-09 Destinee Hooker, Texas Sam Bradford, Oklahoma
2009-10 Lisa Koll, Iowa State Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
2010-11 Jessica Beard, Texas A&M Taylor Jungmann, Texas
2011-12 Brittney Griner, Baylor Robert Griffin III, Baylor
2012-13 Keilani Ricketts, Oklahoma Collin Klein, Kansas State

Related content



Sports Videos