The Story of Kansas

January 31, 2011

Learn more about the 105 counties in Kansas

Using the graphic below: Click on a county in Kansas to learn more about it, including when it was founded and how it got its name.

Spot any errors? Please e-mail

SOURCE: Blue Skyways, a service of the State Library of Kansas; "Indian Place Names," by John Rydjord; and Kansas State Historical Society. Courthouse photos by Larry and Karen Hornbaker. Sedgwick County courthouse photo by Mike Hutmacher/The Wichita Eagle.

Related content


Editor's Choice Videos