Brownback attorney and 5 from Wichita area among appeals court judge candidates

10/12/2012 4:01 PM

08/05/2014 9:25 PM

TOPEKA — Gov. Sam Brownback’s top staff lawyer, Caleb Stegall, and five people from the Wichita area are among 21 candidates vying to fill a vacancy on the state Court of Appeals.

A nominating commission will begin conducting interviews with the applicants Nov. 13 in Topeka. The interviews will be open to the public.

Among the candidates are former Republican House member Sedgwick County District Court Judge Anthony J. Powell, who is a former Republican House Representative, Wichita Municipal Court Judge Bryce A. Abbott, Eastborough lawyer Stephen M. Kerwick, Wichita lawyer David P. Eron, and Wichita lawyer Steven P. Smith.

The Court of Appeals vacancy will be created Jan. 2 when Judge Christel E. Marquardt retires. Another vacancy will also be filled following the death of Judge Richard Greene earlier this week.

Appeals court judges are selected by the governor from a list submitted by the nominating commission. They serve four-year terms.

Here’s a list of all the candidates.

Bryce A. Abbott Judge Wichita Terri L. Bezek Lawyer Topeka Henry R. Cox Lawyer Shawnee David P. Eron Lawyer Wichita Kathryn A. Gardner Lawyer Topeka Patrick B. Hughes Lawyer Leon Keyta D. Kelly Lawyer Leavenworth Stephen M. Kerwick Lawyer Eastborough Kip A. Kubin Lawyer Leawood Christine M.T. Ladner Lawyer Lawrence Matthew C. Miller Lawyer Leawood Clayton T. Norkey Lawyer Overland Park Steven J. Obermeier Lawyer Olathe Anthony J. Powell Judge Wichita Robert W. Ramsdell Lawyer Lawrence Steven M. Roth Judge St. Marys Kim R. Schroeder Judge Hugoton Steven P. Smith Lawyer Wichita Caleb Stegall Lawyer Lawrence Guy R. Steier Judge Clyde Teresa L. Watson Lawyer Topeka

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service