Top 1 percent of seniors to be honored as Governor's Scholars

05/01/2011 12:00 AM

05/12/2011 11:21 AM

TOPEKA — Students in the top 1æpercent of Kansas high school seniors will be honored Sunday at a Topeka event hosted by Gov. Sam Brownback and the state Department of Education. This is the 28th year for the Governor’s Scholars Award Program, which recognizes students from public and private schools. Area students follow, by high school.

Andale: Emma Orth, Grace Winter

Andover: Conrad Holt, Shelby Priest

Andover Central: Adam Jacobson, Andrew Kuhlman

Argonia: Brooke Boatright

Arkansas City: Nicole Fiorentino, Brandon Young

Augusta: Allora Richey, Nick Steffes

Belle Plaine: Sara Doyle

Bluestem: Jarrett Holtz

Berean Academy: Aaron Funk

Bishop Carroll: Sarah Henry, Jessica Johnson, Margaret Seiler

Burrton: Jessica Elaine Hurst

Caldwell: Logan Diane Rice

Campus: Katie Denning, Amanda Jones, Jonathan Segovia, CleoAnne Worthan

Central Burden: Ty Taylor

Cheney: Cori Marie Jones

Circle: Taylor Horyna, Kortni McCormick

Clearwater: Dalton Zogleman

Conway Springs: Ashley Koester

Derby: Bryan Lickteig, Trevor Prater, Anthony St. Aubin, Thomas Wellemeyer

Dexter: Abby Crow

Douglass: Sarah Bergley

El Dorado: Molly Milbourn, Anastasia Rausch

Garden Plain: Lauren Renner

Goddard: Brian Harrison, Scott Langenegger, Tanner New, Jacqueline Weber

Halstead: Dakota Warren

Independent School: Kelsey Eklund

Kapaun Mount Carmel: Jacob Ewers, Matthew Louis, Chandler Puritty

Maize: Kimberly Cole, Rodrigo Cuestas, Corinne Penner, Kaylie Wilson

Maize South: Amanda Kline, Lindsey Moser

Mulvane: Taylor Hanna, Christopher Langstaff

Newton: Joanna Epp, Maria Jantz, Timothy Regier

Oxford: Riley Emley

Rose Hill: Jace Dinkel, Michael Whinery

Sedgwick: Jessica Lovett

South Haven: Kiley Broyles

Trinity Academy: Charles “Reid” Welch

Udall: McKenzie Loveall

Valley Center: Corey Kingsland, Dylan Tracy

Wellington: Hannah Tazkargy, April Wright

Wichita Collegiate: Amanda Johnson

Wichita East: Wei Shi, Emma Snowden, Haley Stritzel, Sindi Vishaj

Wichita Heights: Sarah Foster, Aschlyn Heptig, Andrea Moyer

Wichita North: Vincent Salerno, Max Sherard Hannah Silverthome, McKenzie Strother, Brooke Taylor

Wichita Northeast Magnet: Kayla Jensen

Wichita Northwest: Kara Aaby, Kristin Heagler, Alaina Shine, Linh Vu

Wichita South: Marysol Alvidrez, Hanie Baayoun, Cynthia Cannon, Kirstin Casimir

Wichita Southeast: Jessica Chang, Hayden Harris, Desirea Holmes, Merrick Rhodes

Wichita West: Kala Perez, Zeelene Reyes, Angie Williams

Winfield: Kelsey Smith, Braden Stevenson

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service