37 Kansas counties named disaster areas because of severe drought

01/16/2014 8:22 AM

01/16/2014 8:22 AM

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 37 western Kansas counties as natural disaster areas because of drought.

Cheyenne, Clark, Comanche, Decatur, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Lane, Logan, Meade, Morton, Ness, Norton, Pawnee, Phillips, Rawlins, Rooks, Rush, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Trego, Wallace and Wichita counties were named disaster areas after severe drought that continued into 2013 substantially affected farm and ranch operations.

Farmers and ranchers in eight adjoining counties – Barber, Barton, Edwards, Kiowa, Osborne, Russell, Smith, and Stafford – also qualify for disaster assistance.

The counties are eligible for disaster programs, such as the emergency loan program administrated by the Farm Service Agency.

Wichita Top Jobs

View All Top Jobs

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service