September 27, 2012

People you should know (Sept. 27)

Alicia Simon and Zac Spear have each been promoted to supervising associate in the assurance department of Allen, Gibbs & Houlik.Advertising

Correction: A previous version of this story listed Cassandra Schwartz's title incorrectly.


Alicia Simon and Zac Spear have each been promoted to supervising associate in the assurance department of Allen, Gibbs & Houlik.


Cassandra Schwartz has joined Apples & Arrows as the agency’s brand manager. Schwartz is also a recent recipient of the Distinguished YP Award from the Young Professionals of Wichita.

Meghan Smith has joined the Greteman Group as a graphic design intern.


Meritrust Credit Union has announced the following new hires and promotions: Charlotte Myrtle and Erica Campos, teller I; Brian Caulkins, data analyst; Marissa Cisneros, Jessica Bosarge and Matilde Gonzalez, tellers; Jeffrey Schiesser, call center associate; Kathleen Jensen and Taylor Metcalf, each promoted from teller I to teller II.


The following recently completed the mini-MBA program at the Center for Management Development at WSU: Curtis Haynes, Berry Material Handling; Ann Knapp, Boeing Company; Michael Chavez, Cessna Aircraft; Stephanie Davis, Cessna Aircraft; John Kasowski, Cessna Aircraft; Rebecca Williamson, Hospira; Maggie Gordon, Johnson Controls; Prisca Barnes, Kansas African American Museum; John Burke, USD 261 Haysville; Brenda Achey, WSU-College of Fine Arts; Michael Yeung, WSU-South Campus; and Stacey Winter, Youthville.


Marilyn Suter has joined Belger Cartage Services as project manager.


Zina Thompson, trust administrator; Pam Ryser, trust officer, and Alicia Warner, trust administrator at The Trust Company of Kansas, have completed the 2012 School of Trust and Financial Services.

Health Care

Physician Phuong Nguyen has joined Wichita Anesthesiology.

Physician David Grainger has been appointed chair of obstetrics and gynecology at the KU School of Medicine-Wichita. He replaces interim chair Kent Bradley.

The Wichita District Dental Society has announced its officers for 2012-2013: Sara Meng, president; Roy Cole, president-elect; Eric Farmer, vice president; Ted Mason, secretary-treasurer; Rob Dakin, Travis Gillespie, Chris Hickerson, John Lewis, Matt Robertson and Rebecca Twietmeyer, directors.

Hal Hale was recognized as the group’s Dentist of the Year, and Judith Salisbury will continue to serve as executive director.


Lisa Oathout-Marshall, a group consultant for Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas, has been awarded the company’s quarter sales award for her sales performance during the second quarter of 2012.

The Kansas General Office of New York Life Insurance has recognized the following employees: Mike Carpenter, agent of the month for August and senior NYLIC of the month for August; Bolivan Dien, rookie of the month and new associate of the month for August; and Fate Spurlock, associate of the month for August.

Deborah Pfeifer and Derick Keith have joined the Kansas General Office of New York Life Insurance as agents.


Dan Monnat of Monnat & Spurrier has been included in the 2013 edition of The Best Lawyers in America. The Wichita-Sedgwick County Historical Museum has announced its officers and trustees for the coming year. They are: Kelly Callen, president; Doug Brehm, first vice president; Dale Richmond, second vice president; Tarzia Nabi, treasurer; Joanne McClelland, secretary; and trustees Dean Bradley, Platt, Adams and Bradley Architects; Myra Devlin, Devlin Interiors; Jay Flower, Foulston-Siefkin; Jeff Longwell, city council; Jan Meyer, Koch Invista; Jack Kellogg, Wichita Hat Works; Mike Kennedy, WSU Alumni Association; Kent Shawver, retired attorney; Jim Skelton, Sedgwick County Commission; and Alice Smith, community volunteer and retired CPA.


Junior League of Wichita has announced that four members have been selected to join the Leadership Wichita 2012 Class. They are Cari Clayton, Kim Doze-Lohmann, Cynthia Schmucker and Coleen Tabor.

The Wichita Crime Commission has announced its board of directors and officers for 2012-2013: Paul Masterson, Insurance Specialist Group, chairman; Larry Sell, Regier, Carr & Monroe, president; Scott Hampel, McCoy Petroleum, vice-president; Kevin Nichols, Nichols Investment Group, secretary; and Chris Steincamp, Depew, Gillen, Rathbun and McInteer, treasurer. Stephanie Fisk-McCurdy, Keller Williams Real Estate, and Mike Hattrup, Wilco Inc., were elected co-chairs of admissions, and Mike Sweeney, Overhead Door, was elected board member at large. Other board members include: Darrel Haynes; John Rapp, Hulnick, Stang & Rapp; Schoen Fitzgerald, Schoen Fitzgerald, CPA; Cari Spainhour, QuikTrip; Dan Gray, Warren Theatres; Mike Relihan, Bullseye Shooting Range; Mike Keller, Hardman & Howell Benefits; Alan Lieber, Washer Specialties; and David Rapp, Hinkle Law Firm.

J. Kendall Dillehay, a Wichita orthodontist, has been elected to represent the Southwestern Society of Orthodontists on the board of trustees of the American Association of Orthodontists.

The Civitan Club of Wichita has announced its officers for 2012-2013. They are: Vicki Jamieson, president; the Rev. Bill Ester, president-elect; Christi Berry-Koontz, secretary; Larry White, treasurer; Harold Connell, immediate past president; and Tony Bove, Colin Busey, Gavin Busey and Virginia Soyez, board of directors.

Real Estate

Cathie Barnard and Linda Seiwert with Prudential Dinning-Beard’s west office have each earned their Fine Homes Certification.

Tobie Andrews has joined the west office of Prudential Dinning-Beard as a sales associate.


Laura Zens and Shanna Dorsett have joined Beehive Salon as stylists.

People You Should Know, compiled by Peggy Smith, reports new hires, promotions and accomplishments. Items for the column can be mailed to The Eagle Business Team, 825 E. Douglas, Wichita, KS 67202 or e-mailed to E-mailed photos must be in JPEG format.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos