September 20, 2012

People you should know (Sept. 20)

Jennifer O’Bar and Jamie Scheffe have been promoted to supervisors in the assurance department of Allen, Gibbs & Houlik.Business Services


Jennifer O’Bar and Jamie Scheffe have been promoted to supervisors in the assurance department of Allen, Gibbs & Houlik.

Business Services

Sandy Gieber, a professional trainer, has joined the team of consultants and trainers at Next Element Consulting in Newton.


Sherri Buss-Rawlins and Carol Haigler have joined the staff of Prairie View School. Buss-Rawlins is the administrator and Haigler is a teacher.


Ed Frantz, a financial representative with Northwestern Mutual RPS Financial Group, has qualified for membership in the Million Dollar Roundtable.

Sean DiGiovanni has joined Northwestern Mutual RPS Financial Group as a financial representative.

Chad Tinterow and Brad Anderson, financial representatives with Northwestern Mutual RPS Financial Group, have been awarded the Bronze Award for their work.

Mike Proctor, a financial representative with Northwestern Mutual RPS Financial Group, has been awarded the Silver Award for his work.

Blake Martin, a financial representative with Northwestern Mutual RPS Financial Group, has been awarded the Platinum Award for his work.

Health Care

Debbie Bratton has joined Grene Vision Group as director of human resources.


Duane Wilkinson has joined 1Point Property Management as hospitality property accountant; 1Point manages Value Place Hotels.


The following attorneys from the law firm of Triplett, Woolf & Garretson have been selected by their peers for inclusion in Best Lawyers in America for 2013. Thomas Triplett, John Woolf, Thomas Garretson, James Walker, Timothy McKee, Theron Fry, Eric Metz, Ron Harnden, Rachael Pirner, Jeffrey Leonard , Jeffrey Dahlgren and J.T. Klaus.

James Hernandez and Steven Day of Woodard, Hernandez, Roth & Day, have been included in 2012 Kansas Super Lawyers.

J. Eric Engstrom, an attorney with Fleeson, Gooing, Coulson, & Kitch, has been appointed to the Wichita State University Board of Trustees by Gov. Sam Brownback.


Tony Berg has joined the Wichita Eagle as vice president of advertising. Berg was most recently at the Arizona Republic.

Justin Case, who formerly worked for Cox Media Group in Birmingham, Ala., has joined Journal Broadcast Group as operations manager.


Misty Harding, director of youth services with the Salvation Army, has been awarded the Excellence in Supervision Award from the Kansas Department for Children and Families.


The Kansas Chapter of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society has named its leadership committee members for the Man and Woman of the year campaign for 2013. Fe Vorderlandwehr, Department of the U.S. Air Force, committee chairperson; Shannon Boone, Shay Chic, committee co-chair; Abe Rodriguez, Wichita Hispanic Chamber; Brandie Lassiter, Commerce Bank; Cassandra Schwartz, Apples and Arrows; Chris Freshour, KPTS; Dennis Clary, The Boeing Company; Desi Viner, Heartland Pathology; Eric Newell, Kohl’s; Jackie Florez, Kohl’s; Janet Cervantes, Rusty Eck; Janice Tronsgard, Kohl’s; Karen Brown, USD 260; Kristi Krok, Commerce Bank; Kristie Schmidt, Piping and Equipment; Todd Bailey, GSI Graphics, Stephanie McCurdy, Keller Williams; Maria Atkinson, State Farm; Stephanie Intagliata; Justin Carson, Aflac; Samantha Ternes, Crate Tech; Anne Bowman, Berexco Oil; Stacy Mayou, Emprise Bank; and Deb Jacobs.

Robin Parker has joined the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, Kansas chapter, as campaign manager for Man and Woman of the Year.

The Public Relations Society of American, Kansas chapter, has added the following new members: Shane Batchelder, communications representative, Westar Energy; Briana Holmes, communications coordinator, Heartland Visioning, Topeka; Meg Jackson, associate director of communications, Eastminster Presbyterian Church; and Amy Williams, Web content specialist, Viega.

Real Estate

Shari Boehlke, Michelle Briggs, Farrah Harris, Lori Touchatt, Sandy Hawk and Brandi Calvert have joined Re/Max Premier as sales associates.

John Koehn and Clarence Zoglman have joined Crown II Realty as sales associates.


Tom Broderick has been named facility administrator of Derby Health and Rehab.

Albert Coccetella has been named facility administrator of Avita Senior Living at Derby.


Tom Playford has joined High Touch Technologies as a RAC technician. Brian Simpson has joined High Touch Technologies as a Web development intern.

Steven Royse, services supervisor at Lowen IT in Hutchinson, has earned the title of CCA Citrix Certified Administrator.

People You Should Know, compiled by Peggy Smith, reports new hires, promotions and accomplishments. Items for the column can be mailed to The Eagle Business Team, 825 E. Douglas, Wichita, KS 67202 or e-mailed to E-mailed photos must be in JPEG format.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos