People you should know (Aug. 2)

08/01/2012 10:10 AM

08/01/2012 10:10 AM


Emily Jaax has joined the certified public accounting firm of Kirkpatrick, Sprecker & Co. as a staff accountant.

Audra Allen has joined the marketing and communications department of Allen, Gibbs & Houlik as an associate. Daniel Backes has joined the firm’s assurance department as a summer intern.


Thomas Rainer has been named to the newly created position of associate creative director at Armstrong Chamberlin.


Lauren Taylor and Jeff Sollo of the Grace Hill Winery have earned the title of certified executive sommelier from the International Wine Guild in Denver.


Steve Pittari has been appointed vice president-aerospace at Park Electrochemical Corp. Pittari will continue to serve as president of the company’s Park Aerospace Technologies Corp. in Newton.


Sunflower Bank has hired John Fink as vice president and director of human resources.


The following KU School of Medicine-Wichita employees recently completed a 10-week session of Leadership Elite at the Center for Management Development at Wichita State University: Christopher McCracken, associate dean for administration; Pennie Smith, information technology services assistant director; Tyann Orton, assistant dean for finance; and Bob Wiese, facilities management director.


Phoebe Pierpoint has been named director of selection with the RPS Financial Group of Northwestern Mutual.

The Northwestern Mutual has named Wichita State University senior Zack Steffan a Target 20 Award Winner for his work during this awards year.

Mischia Brown has joined the insurance division of Frontier Insurance Strategies as a relationship manager.

Nic Murillo and Raneisha Hunter, both seniors at WSU and financial representative interns at Northwestern Mutual, have been recognized as Power of 10 Award Winners for their work at Northwestern Mutual.

Scott Colby , a financial services agent for New England Financial, has been inducted into the NAIFA Kansas Life Insurance Producers Hall of Fame in Topeka.

Health Care

Rami Mortada, M.D., has joined the KU School of Medicine–Wichita as an assistant professor in the Division of Endocrinology and will see patients in both the inpatient setting and at KU Wichita Endocrinology at Cypress Medical Park.

Prairie View has added the following people to its board of directors: Cecil Lilliston, hospital chaplain, Via Christi Health System; Michael Miller , Mennonite Economic Development Associates; and the Rev. Mary Siegmund , pastor, St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church.

Optometrist Jill M. Huelskamp has joined Grene Vision Group and is seeing patients at its locations in Wichita, Wellington and Winfield.

Eric Edell , an internationally recognized expert in bronchoscopy and board certified pulmonologist, has been appointed senior vice president, clinical practice at Via Christi Health.

Physician Richard Gomendoza, with Via Christi Clinic, has recently achieved recertification by the American Board of Internal Medicine and has been awarded a Certificate of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism.

Jason Adams has been promoted to QA site coordinator at GraceMed Good Samaritan Clinic at 3701 E. 13th St. N.

Tonya Siqueira has been promoted to QA site coordinator at GraceMed Mother Mary Anne Clinic at 1131 S. Clifton.

GraceMed Health Clinic has added the following staff: Teresa Johnson , physician; Dawn Zander , advanced practitioner registered nurse; Russell Johnson , physician and chief medical officer; Tiffany Koehn , family nurse practitioner and Keith Flippin , IT coordinator.


Josh Tucker has joined the Josh Bolduc State Farm agency as a licensed representative.


The Law Offices of Morris, Laing, Evans, Brock & Kennedy have added Doug Coe , Katie Collins and Jara Settles as summer law clerks.


Excel Industries of Hesston has promoted Roger Nice to director of credit services.


The ARC of Sedgwick County has announced its officers for 2012-13. Sue Schmelzer, TECU, president; Dennis Artz, Safeco Insurance, first vice president; Sean Amore, Associated, second vice president; Deborah Gdisis, Ameriprise Financial Service, secretary; and Leonal Kilgore, Vantage Foods, treasurer.


Sisters of St. Joseph Dear Neighbor Ministries, which governs both Dear Neighbor Ministries and StepStone transitional housing for survivors of domestic violence, has named the following to its board of directors and officers for the new fiscal year. Alice Wiggins, Gayla Carney, Father Pat Malone and Sister Diane Leary. Officers elected are, Clemens Ast, chairman; Dan Urenda, treasurer; and Sister Joan Burger, secretary.

Jeanette Clement , retail events manager with Cabela’s, has joined the Public Relations Society of America, Kansas Chapter.

Paul Blissett, Autocraft Collision Repair, has been elected president of the board of The Rotary Club of West Wichita. Other board members include: Greg Carr, Lori Taylor, Marv Fisher, Vern Klassen, Brian Goodie, Brian Turney, Cindy Hand, Mark Hansen, Chuck Bennis and Kerry Sabala.

Jeff Keeny, co-owner of Paul Davis Emergency Services, has graduated from the Wichita Fire Department Citizens Fire Academy.

Real Estate

Stephanie Sellens and Robert Beard have joined Prudential Dinning-Beard’s east office as sales associates.

Elyssa Seymour has been promoted to commercial specialist at Grubb & Ellis | Martens Commercial Group.

Mandy Aguilera has joined Golden Inc., Realtors as a sales associate.


Simon Remigio has joined the staff of technology consultants at Lowen IT.


Jimmy Wisley, a driver with YRC Freight, a subsidiary of YRC Worldwide, won a division title, placing first in the twins class, at the Kansas Truck Driving Championships.

People You Should Know, compiled by Peggy Smith, reports new hires, promotions and accomplishments. Items for the column can be mailed to The Eagle Business Team, 825 E. Douglas, Wichita, KS 67202 or e-mailed to E-mailed photos must be in JPEG format.

Wichita Top Jobs

View All Top Jobs

Join the discussion

is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service