Wichita Sports Hall of Fame announces 2014 class

04/08/2014 6:59 AM

04/08/2014 7:01 AM

Former Wichita State baseball coach Gene Stephenson heads a list of 10 individuals, two groups and a reporter who comprise the 2014 Wichita Sports Hall of Fame induction class.

Stephenson revived the dormant WSU baseball program in 1977. He coached the team for 36 seasons, winning 1,837 games and taking the Shockers to the College World Series seven times, winning the championship in 1989. He was fired after the 2013 season.

The other inductees are football player Mark Bell, basketball coach Steve Eck, administrator Dorothy Harmon, administrator Jesse Harper, bowler Ed Henning, football player Bob Long, basketball coach Lafayette Norwood, track athlete Randy Smith, baseball player Chris Wimmer, the 2011-12 Friends men’s and women’s cross country and track teams, and the Greater Wichita Officials Association. Eagle reporter Rick Plumlee will receive the fourth annual Mal Elliott Sports Media Award.

Seven individual members of the 2014 class were elected by previous Hall of Fame inductees and media members. The Hall’s advisory committee elected three individuals plus the team representative, and Hall president Paul Savage chose the organizational inductee and the Mal Elliott Award recipient.

Induction ceremonies will take place at 2 p.m. May 17 at Hillside Christian Church, 8330 E. Douglas. For information call the Wichita Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, 316-264-5222.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service