Burn ban that includes Sedgwick County to begin in April

03/04/2014 4:57 PM

03/04/2014 4:58 PM

A burn ban in several Kansas counties, including Sedgwick and Butler, will go into effect in April.

People with burn permits will not be able to have open burns after March 31, a news release from the county said.

The ban includes open burning of any waste such as vegetation, wood, construction materials and structures.

The ban also affects Chase, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Geary, Greenwood, Johnson, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte counties.

Burns for crop, range and wildlife or watershed management still will be allowed but will require a valid permit. Permits from Sedgwick County Fire District 1 may be requested online at www.sedgwickcounty.org or by calling 316-660-3473.

The news release said residents should call 911 before burning anything.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service