Horizon Award recognizes top first-year teachers

01/16/2014 3:31 PM

01/16/2014 3:32 PM

Thirty-two first-year teachers in Kansas, including eight in the Wichita area, have been named Horizon Award recipients, state education officials announced Thursday.

The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award program recognizes exemplary first-year teachers. Recipients were notified of their selection by Education Commissioner Diane DeBacker.

Local winners were: Kaitlyn Jilka, Lincoln Elementary School, Augusta; Amanda Leighton, Valley Center High School; Kevin Roulhac, Maize High School; Kristina Sims, Maize Central Elementary School; Roxana Smith, Andover Central Middle School; Elizabeth Wall, Lowell Elementary School, Winfield; Nathan Whitman, Burrton High School; and Renicia Yoder, Northridge Elementary School, Newton.

A complete list of recipients is posted on the Kansas Department of Education website, www.ksde.org. They will be recognized at a luncheon during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network state conference Feb. 21.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service