Wichita State names 12 finalists in Distinguished Scholarship Invitational

01/06/2014 12:03 PM

01/06/2014 12:04 PM

Wichita State University has named the 12 finalists in its Distinguished Scholarship Invitational, officials announced in a news release Monday.

Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship, which at $52,000 is among the largest undergraduate awards in Kansas.

The finalists are: Aisha Duggins, Wichita Northeast Magnet High School; Brissa Gallegos, Wichita North; Mary Henning, Wichita Northwest; Derick Holmes, Wichita Southeast; Kevin Kraus, Salina South; Jennifer Mattar, Wichita Collegiate; Bridget McSorley, Bishop Miege High (Kansas City, Kan.); Meenakshi Natesan, Wichita East; Jenny Nguyen, Kapaun Mount Carmel; Madison Ripperger, Trinity Academy; Amy Vuong, Wichita Southeast; and Jackson Wilborn, Wichita Northeast Magnet.

This year’s invitational drew 328 students. To be invited to compete, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA. The finalists this year have an average ACT score of 29 and an average GPA of 3.95.

Finalists will return to the WSU campus Jan. 29 for final interviews. The Gore Scholars will be announced Jan. 30. All finalists will receive WSU scholarship packages.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service