McClinton, Wagle to be honored by Kansas Human Rights Commission

04/17/2013 9:49 AM

04/17/2013 9:59 PM

The late Sen. Curtis McClinton and current Senate President Susan Wagle will be honored this week by the Kansas Human Rights Commission.

In honor of the 60th anniversary of its founding, the commission released the names of 10 Kansans who are this year’s recipients of the James E. Butler Civil Rights Award. In addition, Wagle will receive special recognition for her service as first female president of the Kansas Senate.

The awards will be presented during a reception from 2 to 4 p.m. Friday in the Landon State Office Building in Topeka. The recipients were selected for their efforts in supporting civil rights and enforcing Kansas laws prohibiting discrimination.

In addition to McClinton, a Wichitan who was the first African-American elected to the state Senate, the winners are:

Onofre “Opie” Astorga, Dodge City; Will Burnett, Topeka; Deborah Dandridge, Topeka; Martha Gabehart, Auburn; Sen. George Haley, Kansas City; Robert Mikesic, Lawrence; Brandon Myers, Auburn; Darrell Pope, Hutchinson, and Representative Myles Stevens (posthumous) Kansas City.

The Butler award was established in 2008 by the commission in support of the Kansas Act Against Discrimination and the Kansas Anti-Discrimination Commission, both established in 1953. It is named after James E. Butler, 92, who served on the Kansas commission under five Kansas governors.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service