Snow storms prompt damage assessments in more than 40 Kansas counties

03/15/2013 7:47 AM

08/06/2014 12:29 AM

Preliminary damage assessments have begun in more than 40 Kansas counties — including the Wichita metropolitan area — struck by two strong winter storms in less than a week last month.

State officials say the assessments will determine if any of the counties will be eligible for federal aid to recoup disaster-related expenses.

“The widespread effects and prolonged duration of the winter storms resulted in additional costs for snow removal and debris cleanup in addition to restoration of electrical power to thousands of Kansans,” Angee Morgan, Kansas Division of Emergency Management deputy director, said in a prepared statement. “We believe those added costs will make many counties eligible to receive federal assistance.”

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management sent a letter to the Federal Emergency Management Agency March 1 requesting the assessments for the following counties: Barber, Barton, Butler, Dickinson, Douglas, Ellis, Ellsworth, Franklin, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jewell, Johnson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Marion, McPherson, Ness, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Trego and Wyandotte. An amendment later requested that Clay, Lyon, Miami and Wichita counties be added to the list.

The assessments are being conducted by joint FEMA/KDEM inspection teams.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service