Differences, commonalities mark the four corners of Kansas

09/02/2012 5:00 AM

09/04/2012 8:27 AM

From dusty badlands and rain-blessed hills to desert and forest land, we are a state of variables.

Kansas, all 82,000 square miles, is diverse in its geography, weather and economy.

Hundreds of miles separate the four corners of Kansas: Cheyenne County in the northwest; Doniphan in the northeast; Cherokee in the southeast, and Morton in the southwest.

Kansans who live in the four corners are independent, but loyal to the Sunflower State.

“I’m a Jayhawker all the way,” said Larry O’Neal of Baxter Springs, in Cherokee County.

Yet, when they do their shopping, chances are they are just as apt to go to Amarillo, Denver, Kansas City, Mo., Tulsa or Joplin. And most live closer to other state capitals than Topeka.

But they are proud of their counties and the ideals they think make a Kansan: stubbornness, hard work, being a good neighbor and a love for the land.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service