LaFrentz, Simoneau, Wecker in latest Kansas Sports Hall class

06/29/2011 12:00 AM

08/05/2014 7:19 PM

Former collegiate All-Americans Raef LaFrentz, Mark Simoneau and Kendra Wecker headline the 2011 Kansas Sports Hall of Fame induction class announced today.

LaFrentz was a two-time All-American forward for the Kansas basketball team and is No. 3 on the Jayhawk scoring list. He played 10 NBA seasons.

Simoneau, from Smith Center, was a Kansas State football All-American in 1999 and the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. He played nine NFL seasons.

Wecker, from Marysville, was a K-State basketball All-American in 2005 and is the program's top scorer.

Other inductees are:

* Wichita State's Willie Jeffries, who in 1979 became the first African-American head football coach in the Bowl Subdivision.

* Former WSU pitcher Don Heinkel, a College Baseball Hall of Famer who won a record 51 games from 1979-82.

* Former Emporia State athlete John Camien, a two-time NAIA cross country champion and five-time track champion in the 1960s.

* Former Kansas athletic director Bob Frederick, who served from 1987 to 2001. He died two years ago in a bicycling accident. The NCAA created a sportsmanship award in his name last year.

* Former KU basketball coach Dick Harp (1956-64).

* Former Pittsburg State football All-American Ronnie West, the first receiver to win the Harlon Hill trophy — the Division II player of the year award.

The honorees will be inducted in an Oct. 2 ceremony.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service