PEN Center to honor Joan Didion for lifetime achievement

09/15/2013 12:00 AM

08/08/2014 10:18 AM

What do Harrison Ford and Joan Didion have in common? They'll both be at the PEN Center USA awards dinner in October, where he will present her with the lifetime achievement award. Their connection is personal rather than literary: The actor and author have known each other since 1971, when the not-yet movie star built her beach house.

“He was a carpenter,” she explains by phone from New York. “I was happy with his work – and even happier with his presence in the house because he was a great moral force.”

PEN Center USA creates a bridge between writing as a creative and political act, making the choice of Didion for the award – previously given to Elmore Leonard and Lawrence Ferlinghetti, among others – particularly fitting because she has crossed that bridge many times in her work.

She won the National Book Award for the beautifully written, very personal 2005 memoir “The Year of Magical Thinking,” about the loss of her husband, John Gregory Dunne. Decades earlier, she published the novels “A Book of Common Prayer” and “Democracy” that explored America’s involvement in Central America.

“Not many people were speaking truth to power in the ’80s,” she says. “I had a really good time doing it – I found it gratifying. It was a joy to have an opportunity to say what you believed. It’s challenging to do it in fiction, but I liked writing the novels. I liked writing ‘Democracy’ particularly.”

Didion was one of the pioneers of New Journalism, a term coined by Tom Wolfe in the 1970s to describe true stories told with the flair of fiction. A meticulous prose stylist with a keen eye for melancholy and irony, Didion leapt to the national stage with her 1968 essay collection, “Slouching Toward Bethlehem.”

PEN has announced that it will award 2013 prizes to writers including newcomer Ramona Ausubel, who wins in the fiction category for her novel “Nobody Is Here Except All of Us.” Seth Rosenfeld takes the research nonfiction prize for “Subversives: The FBI’s War on Student Radicals, and Reagan’s Rise to Power”; Joy Harjo, creative nonfiction for “Crazy Brave”; Mark Boal for his screenplay for “Zero Dark Thirty”; and Danny Strong, who wins for his teleplay for HBO’s “Game Change.”

Entertainment Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service