Wichita Symphony’s 2014-15 season to feature pianist Joyce Yang, opera star Samuel Ramey

04/15/2014 12:16 PM

08/08/2014 10:34 AM

The Wichita Symphony Orchestra on Tuesday announced the schedule for its 2014-15 season, which starts in October.

Among the highlights: A return performance by pianist Joyce Yang, who last appeared with the symphony in October 2013, and an appearance by opera star Samuel Ramey, who will sing the role of Duke Bluebeard from Bartok’s “Bluebeard’s Castle.”

String trio Time for Three also will appear, as will acclaimed pianist Stephen Hough and violinist Karen Gomyo. Local musicians Mark Foley, the symphony’s principal double bass player, and timpanist Gerard Scholl also will be featured in solos in a concert called “Hometown Heroes.”

Season tickets are now available by calling the Symphony box office at 316-267-7658. A season ticket for all eight classics concerts ranges in price from $133 to $384. A half-season ticket offering admission to four concerts ranges in price from $68 to $200.

The classic concerts will take place at 8 p.m. Saturdays and 3 p.m. Sundays in the Century II Concert Hall. The symphony also will perform three pops concerts, 12 Young People’s concerts for local students, the annual Spirit of the Season Holiday concert, and the River Festival Twilight Pops Concert. The symphony also is adding a new family concert matinee and will release details about it later.

For more information and a complete list of concerts, visit wichitasymphony.org.

Entertainment Videos

Join the Discussion

The Wichita Eagle is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service