Log Out | Member Center



Wheelspin McPherson College team wins another Great Race

  • Published Thursday, July 3, 2014, at 6:42 p.m.
  • Updated Saturday, July 5, 2014, at 6:51 a.m.


The McPherson College Auto Restoration rally team won its second consecutive X-Cup in the 2014 Hemmings Motor News Great Race presented by Hagerty.

The team consists of Tony diValentin, a Florida senior and returning driver, Jake O’Gorman, a junior from Southern Ontario, Kansas sophomore Austin Hiebert and Justin Smeltzer, a sophomore from California. They used the same car, a beautiful 1957 Ford Fairlane restored in-house at the college’s shop facilities, to travel the distance between Ogunquit, Maine, and The Villages, Fla.

The X-Cup division is for educational institutions and technical schools.

Winning the overall title for the third consecutive year were Barry and Irene Jason of Keller, Texas, driving their 1966 Mustang, which replaced the 1935 Ford coupe that took the top honors in 2012 and 2013.

This year’s timed rally covered 2,400 miles through a dozen states.

Reach Mike Berry at mberry@wichitaeagle.com.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Place an Ad
Maximize your ad's reach. Advertise with both The Wichita Eagle and Kansas.com.

Merchandise ads are FREE.
Advertising Options More information...

Search for a job


Top jobs