Log Out | Member Center



Wichita State’s Marshall earns Naismith award

  • Eagle staff
  • Published Monday, April 7, 2014, at 10:02 a.m.
  • Updated Sunday, April 13, 2014, at 9:19 a.m.


Wichita State basketball coach Gregg Marshall added another honor to his history-making season on Sunday when the Atlanta Tipoff Club named him the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year.

Marshall coached the Shockers to a 35-1 record and a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. WSU became the first team to win 35 games before losing.

Finalists for the award included Michigan’s John Beilein, SMU’s Larry Brown, Florida’s Billy Donovan and Tony Bennett of Virginia.

Marshall also won Coach of the Year honors from the Associated Press, the National Association of Basketball Coaches, the United States Basketball Writers Association and CBSSports.com.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs