Log Out | Member Center



Basketball writers name Gregg Marshall national coach of the year

  • Eagle staff
  • Published Monday, March 24, 2014, at 11:23 a.m.
  • Updated Friday, April 18, 2014, at 11:39 a.m.

Wichita State coach Gregg Marshall was named Henry Iba Coach of the Year on Monday by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Marshall completed his seventh season at WSU on Sunday with a 78-76 loss to Kentucky in the Midwest Regional third round. The Shockers (35-1) were a No. 1 seed for the first time and entered the tournament as the nation’s second-ranked team.

Marshall will be honored at the USBWA awards dinner April 14 in Oklahoma City.

Other finalists were Michigan’s John Beilein, Virginia’s Tony Bennett, SMU’s Larry Brown, Saint Louis’ Jim Crews, Cincinnati’s Mick Cronin, Florida’s Billy Donovan, San Diego State’s Steve Fisher, Creighton’s Greg McDermott and Villanova’s Jay Wright.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs