Log Out | Member Center



Wichita State’s Gregg Marshall earns national coaching honor

  • Eagle staff
  • Published Tuesday, March 11, 2014, at 11:30 a.m.
  • Updated Sunday, April 13, 2014, at 9:19 a.m.

Wichita State coach Gregg Marshall was named national Coach of the Year by The Sporting News on Tuesday.

Marshall, 51, has led WSU to a 34-0 record and the most wins of any team ever to enter the NCAA Tournament. Wichita State also broke through a barrier this season of winning the Missouri Valley Conference Tournament in St. Louis for the first time.

Marshall was also named District VI Coach of the Year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Shocker forward Cleanthony Early and point guard Fred VanVleet were named to the 10-man team along with Kansas’ Andrew Wiggins and Joel Embiid, Oklahoma State’s Marcus Smart, Creighton’s Doug McDermott (player of the year), Nebraska’s Terran Petteway, Iowa State’s Melvin Ejim and DeAndre Kane, and Iowa’s Roy Marble.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs