Log Out | Member Center



YEAR BY YEAR | ALL-DECADE TEAM 2000s: Three correct calls

  • Published Tuesday, March 4, 2014, at 4:06 p.m.
  • Updated Wednesday, March 5, 2014, at 1:37 p.m.

For all of the wrong decisions of the 1990s, it turned around quickly in the early 2000s. New athletic director Jim Schaus fired Randy Smithson and brought in Mark Turgeon, who by his third season had WSU with 18 wins and third in the Valley.

Just as importantly, these now-winning Shockers were playing a season in the Kansas Coliseum while the Roundhouse was undergoing a Schaus-initiated $25 million renovation that again made it a college basketball jewel.

Turgeon began a string of three 20-win seasons – WSU’s first such streak since 1983 – that culminated in 2006 with the program’s first conference championship in 23 years. In the NCAA Tournament as a 7-seed, WSU dominated Seton Hall in the first round, then used big baskets from Karon Bradley and P.J. Couisnard to beat 2-seed Tennessee 80-73 to reach its first Sweet 16 since 1981.

WSU was able to keep Turgeon another year before he left for Texas A&M. Then came Schaus’ third big decision of the decade, hiring tournament-seasoned Winthrop coach Gregg Marshall. Rebuilding with seasons of 11 and 17 wins, by the turn of the decade he was beginning a run of 20-win seasons that shows no sign of stopping.

Randy Burns5-11G
P.J. Couisnard6-4F
Clevin Hannah5-11G
Jamar Howard6-5F
Paul Miller6-10C
Off the bench
Terrell Benton6-5G
Karon Bradley5-11G
Matt Braeuer5-11G
Aaron Hogg6-6F
Rob Kampman6-8F
Sean Ogirri6-2G
Kyle Wilson6-8F

SeasonOverallMVC (Finish)CoachTop scorer
1999-200012-176-12 (T9th)Randy SmithsonJason Perez (20.2)
2000-019-194-14 (9th)Mark TurgeonTerrell Benton (12.8)
2001-0215-159-9 (5th)Mark TurgeonRandy Burns (12.1)
2002-0318-12**12-6 (3rd)Mark TurgeonRandy Burns (15.1)
2003-0421-11**12-6 (T2nd)Mark TurgeonJamar Howard (13.8)
2004-0522-10**12-6 (2nd)Mark TurgeonRandy Burns (12.1)
2005-0626-9*14-4 (1st)Mark TurgeonPaul Miller (13.1)
2006-0717-148-10 (6th)Mark TurgeonKyle Wilson (13.7)
2007-0811-204-14 (9th)Gregg MarshallP.J. Couisnard (13.2)
2008-0917-178-10 (5th)Gregg MarshallClevin Hannah (11.2)

* – NCAA Tournament; ** – National Invitation Tournament

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs