Log Out | Member Center



Wichita State’s VanVleet named to Naismith semifinal list

  • Eagle staff
  • Published Friday, Feb. 28, 2014, at 1:07 p.m.
  • Updated Thursday, March 20, 2014, at 6:22 p.m.

A Wichita State basketball player was named to a national player of the year award semifinal list Friday for the second time in two days. Only it wasn’t the same guy.

Sophomore point guard Fred VanVleet was named to the 10-man Naismith Award semifinal list, a day after senior teammate Cleanthony Early was named to the 15-man Oscar Robertson finalists list.

VanVleet is joined on the Naismith semifinal list by Kansas freshman Andrew Wiggins, Syracuse freshman Tyler Ennis, Arizona junior Nick Johnson, Cincinnati senior Sean Kilpatrick, Creighton senior Doug McDermott, Connecticut senior Shabazz Napier, Duke freshman Jabari Parker, Kentucky freshman Julius Randle, and Louisville senior Russ Smith.

Four finalists will be announced March 23.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs