Log Out | Member Center



Horizon Award recognizes top first-year teachers

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014, at 3:32 p.m.

Thirty-two first-year teachers in Kansas, including eight in the Wichita area, have been named Horizon Award recipients, state education officials announced Thursday.

The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award program recognizes exemplary first-year teachers. Recipients were notified of their selection by Education Commissioner Diane DeBacker.

Local winners were: Kaitlyn Jilka, Lincoln Elementary School, Augusta; Amanda Leighton, Valley Center High School; Kevin Roulhac, Maize High School; Kristina Sims, Maize Central Elementary School; Roxana Smith, Andover Central Middle School; Elizabeth Wall, Lowell Elementary School, Winfield; Nathan Whitman, Burrton High School; and Renicia Yoder, Northridge Elementary School, Newton.

A complete list of recipients is posted on the Kansas Department of Education website, www.ksde.org. They will be recognized at a luncheon during the Kansas Exemplary Educators Network state conference Feb. 21.

Reach Suzanne Perez Tobias at 316-268-6567 or stobias@wichitaeagle.com. Follow her on Twitter: @suzannetobias.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs