Log Out | Member Center



Sedgwick County commissioners choose Dave Unruh as new chairman

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014, at 7:52 a.m.
  • Updated Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014, at 10:48 a.m.

Sedgwick County Commissioner Dave Unruh will lead the board this year.

Commissioners elected him chairman Wednesday. The board appointed Tim Norton as chairman pro-tem.

Unruh, a Republican, represents District 1, which covers the northeastern part of the county. Norton, a Democrat, represents District 2 in the south-central part of the county, including Haysville.

Commissioner Jim Skelton gave up the gavel. Chairmen serve one-year terms.

Unruh was chairman pro-tem the past year. He has been chairman three other times — 2005, 2007 and 2011.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs