Log Out | Member Center



Wichita State names 12 finalists in Distinguished Scholarship Invitational

  • The Wichita Eagle
  • Published Monday, Jan. 6, 2014, at 12:04 p.m.

Wichita State University has named the 12 finalists in its Distinguished Scholarship Invitational, officials announced in a news release Monday.

Two of the finalists will be selected as recipients of the Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship, which at $52,000 is among the largest undergraduate awards in Kansas.

The finalists are: Aisha Duggins, Wichita Northeast Magnet High School; Brissa Gallegos, Wichita North; Mary Henning, Wichita Northwest; Derick Holmes, Wichita Southeast; Kevin Kraus, Salina South; Jennifer Mattar, Wichita Collegiate; Bridget McSorley, Bishop Miege High (Kansas City, Kan.); Meenakshi Natesan, Wichita East; Jenny Nguyen, Kapaun Mount Carmel; Madison Ripperger, Trinity Academy; Amy Vuong, Wichita Southeast; and Jackson Wilborn, Wichita Northeast Magnet.

This year’s invitational drew 328 students. To be invited to compete, students had to have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.50 cumulative GPA. The finalists this year have an average ACT score of 29 and an average GPA of 3.95.

Finalists will return to the WSU campus Jan. 29 for final interviews. The Gore Scholars will be announced Jan. 30. All finalists will receive WSU scholarship packages.

Reach Suzanne Perez Tobias at 316-268-6567 or stobias@wichitaeagle.com. Follow her on Twitter: @suzannetobias.

Subscribe to our newsletters

The Wichita Eagle welcomes your comments on news of the day. The more voices engaged in conversation, the better for us all, but do keep it civil. Please refrain from profanity, obscenity, spam, name-calling or attacking others for their views. Please see our commenting policy for more information.

Have a news tip? You can send it to wenews@wichitaeagle.com.

Search for a job


Top jobs